Are you ready to start driving and begin getting your Learners Permit? Having a Drivers License is privilege and comes with accepting that it has great responsibility. You will be operating a 3,000 lbs automobile that requires your complete attention at all times.
Florida has established a set of steps for new drivers to obtain a Learners Permit. In addition to these steps, you will be required to have automobile insurance. It is always advisable for you have a discussion with your carrier to determine the correct coverage you require.
Follow these 5 easy steps to get your Learners Permit License
When you complete your online classes, your Course Completion Certificate and Permit Exam results are automatically sent to all Florida DMV offices by our systems.
Your teen is about to enter a very important stage of their life. Learning how to safely operate a motor vehicle responsibly should not be taken casually. Learning correctly is important for them and you.
Here are some keys elements you should know as you and your teen proceed to obtain a Florida Learners License:
A New Driver needs to hold a learners license for at least one year (12 months) or reach age 18, whichever comes first. Additional requirement include:
The Graduated Driver Licensing (GDL) Laws allow teen drivers to safely gain driving experience under lower-risk conditions before obtaining full driving privileges. These laws outline limits and restrictions for new drivers ages 15 through 17. Florida's GDL laws are designed to help teens gradually and safely build their skills and experience behind the wheel. It is important for teens and their parents to understand these laws and obey them.
|Learner's License||Daylight hours for first three months after license issued - until 10 p.m. after three months||
- ALWAYS accompanied by a licensed driver 21+ years old
- Must hold for a minimum of 12 months or until 18th birthday, whichever comes first.
- Required 50 hours of supervised driving, 10 of which must be at night.
|Driver's License 16 years old||NOT between 11:00 pm to 6:00 am||Unless driving to or from work, or must accompanied by a licensed driver 21+ years old|
|Driver's License 17 years old||NOT between 1:00 am to 5:00 am||Unless driving to or from work, or must accompanied by a licensed driver 21+ years old|